About the Pastor

Fr. Jay Korban is the current pastor of the Rossburn Pastoral District having been assigned since September 2020. To reach him, email, call or text him below.

Fr. Jay Korban

Fr. Jay Korban was born on Feb. 14, 1991 in Winnipeg, Manitoba to Donna & +Richard Korban. He was raised in Winnipeg his whole life until he left to enter Holy Spirit Seminary in Ottawa, ON. Prior to that, Fr. Jay attended Immaculate Heart of Mary School followed by Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute. After graduating, Fr. Jay attended the University of Winnipeg where he obtained his Bachelor of Arts degree with a double major in both Philosophy & Geography. In 2014, he moved to Ottawa to enter into the seminary and attend St. Paul University. In 2019, Fr. Jay graduated with his Master of Divinity and moved back to Winnipeg where he served at St. Anne & St. Michael parishes in an administrative role while also being ordained to the sub-diaconate and diaconate. On August 15, 2020 Fr. Jay was ordained to the holy priesthood and immediately assigned to the Rossburn Pastoral District. In June 2021, Fr. Jay was assigned as pastor of the district for a five year term.

Fr. Jay has a wife, Sophia, and three kids: Benjamin (6), Gabriella (3) and Kassia (1). Fr. Jay & Sophia got together while she was working for The Welcome Home in Winnipeg. They got married in 2015 at Holy Eucharist Parish, Winnipeg. Sophia obtained her Bachelor of Theology degree in 2014 from St. Paul University and has been employed by the Yorkton Region (formally a province) Redemptorists, the Eparchy of Saskatoon, the Archdiocese of Ottawa and St. Anne Parish all in youth and/or family ministry positions.

Fr. Jay and his family are very excited to be serving the Rossburn Pastoral District and are looking forward to many years of service in the area.

Former Pastors

+Rev. Even Oliynyk – 1948-56

+Rev. John Lekhy – 1956-2002

Rev. Volodymyr Bashutskyy – 2002-05

+Rev. Edward Evanko – 2005-07

Rev. Deacon Patrick (Paisios) Firman – 2008

Very Rev. Darren Kawiuk – 2008-09

Rev. Mykhaylo Khomitskyy – 2010-20

Rev. Jay Korban – 2020 – current

%d bloggers like this: